Support System

I can’t explain how thankful I am for the people that choose to be in our lives, during this new and different transition stage of dealing with past losses and coming into the new stages of parenthood.  Y’all are awesome.  To anyone going through struggles, let alone infertility struggles, but struggles in general, get connected.  This is one of my biggest pieces of advice during this process. Friends/Family will need to be there more than they can and/or willing to give, and getting connected with individuals or families that have been through what you’re going through helps significantly.  The people that choose to be in our lives and be present.  THANK YOU.  I know I can’t repay you ever, but I’ll be there for you.

Recently, I joined a local Infertility Group to just hear other people’s stories, but also support and develop relationships with women who get it. They’ve been there, they’ve ridden the crazy rollercoaster or they are going through the process now.  As soon as I left that 1st meeting, I cried on the way home, because I was overwhelmed by the support these women give to me and to each other, and they don’t even know me. I mean really, they know our story and one happened to be my nextdoor neighbor for a few years, but we didn’t really “know” each other.  So thankful to surround myself with individuals like this.  And to think I was just seconds away from chickening out and not attending their meeting, because I just didn’t have it in me that day, but I went and I don’t regret a single second of it.

I clearly won’t go into their stories to respect their privacy, but they are intense.  Far beyond what I think I can bear and/or have gone through.  Some going through all sorts of fertility treatments, some going through adoption, some going through both processes, and some in a waiting period or a peace period (as I like to call it).  It’s really encouraging how many of these fine ladies have found peace along the way, which really led my comments in my last blog.  Finding that peace is such a huge part to going through infertility and transitioning through new stages of life.  It’s difficult to let go of loss(es), but be available and open to other processes.  I prayed with these ladies and pray for them to continue to be strong and follow the path God has lined out for them.

So…I guess, whatever you’re going through…find that support system.  And if you have friends going through it, be that support system.  You could truly save a soul, life and relationship, by simply just being there.  If anyone that is reading this needs someone to be there for them, reach out to me.  I’d love to be there for you.

Leave a Reply

